# AAUW Colorado Board of Directors Meeting Minutes Saturday, April 29, 2017, 8:15-9:15 a.m. Antlers Hotel, 4 S Cascade Ave, Colorado Springs, CO 80903

### 1. Call to Order

President Amy Blackwell welcomed those present and called the meeting to order at 8:15 a.m. Lois Florkey and Jill Smith were appointed to the reading committee to read the minutes. No teller or timekeeper was designated. A quorum was present. Please see attached listing of board member attendees. Other members present included: Stormy McDonald (President Elect Apparent), Melinda Reed, Mark Hopkins (National), and Melissa Johnsen (National).

### 2. Secretary's Report

Carolyn Cooley reported that minutes from the September 10, 2016 Board of Directors meeting at the Fall Leadership conference were approved on November 26, 2016. The minutes have been filed in the Secretary notebook and on-line on the CO State website. Minutes from the February 3, 2017 State Executive Committee Meeting at Public Policy Day were approved and will be filed in the Secretary Notebook and on the website. Highlights of the Executive Committee Meeting on Friday, April 28, 2017 were shared. There was no correspondence.

### 3. Treasurer's Report

Treasurer Bev Dare distributed the Treasurer's Report. The report will be filed with the minutes.

### 4. Officer and Committee Reports

**President Amy Blackwell** highlighted the Interbranch Council (IBC) work and growing synergy between branches. She also expressed pleasure with the work branches are doing to interface with local colleges, implementing StartSmart, and encouraging young women in NCCWSL.

Immediate Past President Marilyn Zimmerman was not present.

**Program Development co-VPs Betty Flaten and Linda Groth** reported on status of 2017 State Convention, noting that 81 members registered, 29 from Colorado Springs; 59 attended the museum; and 27 attended the art center tour. Plans for 2018 are well underway, and Longmont will host the 2019 convention.

Membership co-VP Eileen Young reported a State membership of 957 members as of February 10, 2017.

AAUW Funds Director Jeane Lindeke was not present.

Public Policy Co-Director Betty Boyd distrbuted the Lobby Corp update to be filed with these minutes.

**Communications Co-Chair Amanda White** is looking for suggestions for items to move from the protected part of the website to the open, public area.

Bylaws co-Chair Lois Florkey gave status on bylaws update.

**IBC Chair Jill Smith** indicated that the IBC had three meetings this year. The next meeting will be at the Fall Leadership Conference.

#### 5. Special Orders

**Nominating Committee Volunteers from State Board:** President Amy Blackwell asked for volunteers from the Board for the 2017-2018 Nominating Committee. Jill Smith from Littleton-South Metro Branch and Linda Groth from Boulder volunteered to be on the Nominating Committee. Lois Florkey from the eNetwork branch volunteered as an Alternate. As there was agreement on the volunteers, no motion for acceptance was made.

## 6. Unfinished Business

**NCCWSL Scholarships:** Amy Blackwell reported that three applications were received for the NCCWSL scholarship. Lauren Watson from Fort Lewis College was selected for a \$550 scholarship. A second qualified applicant was offered a scholarship but decided not to attend. In the future, applicants will be required to formally commit to attending the conference by a specific date.

Awards and Grants: There were no applications for awards and grants. In the future, applications will be available on-line at the State website on the public space.

**Branch Counterpart Outreach:** There was discussion on ways the state officers communicate with branch counterparts. Amy Blackwell encouraged officers to reach out to counterparts at least on a quarterly basis and to inform them of opportunities in state committees. The conversation on ways to communicate with branches will be on-going.

### 7. New Business

**2017 Fall Leadership Conference and Counterpart Engagement:** Topics for Fall Leadership Conference and counterpart interactions were discussed as ways to better communicate and interface with the branches. Potential topics to include in the fall include: strengthen AAUW mission to members, more on diversity and inclusion, venue selection to attract members, increased counterpart interface, and ways branches interact with local colleges. It was suggested that after July 2 officers invite branch counterparts to the Fall Leadership Conference.

**State Conventions 2020 and Beyond: Branch Hosted or Not?:** There was discussion regarding pros and cons of continuing to have conventions hosted by the branches as opposed to the state. Amy Blackwell posed questions relating to the value of the state organization and how it can be relevant and stressed the need to foster committees.

**New Business From the Floor:** There was discussion regarding the use of a physical versus electronic "mailbox" to disseminate information at State meetings.

Motion: It was moved by Amanda White and seconded by Jill Smith to "discontinue the physical mailbox and replace with electronic mailbox for Board of Directors AAUW Colorado." Motion Carried.

#### 8. Announcements

May 30: State Bulletin Submission Deadline May 31 - June 3, 2017: NCCWSL at University of Maryland – College Park June 14 - 17: AAUW National Convention in Washington, DC August 25 - 26: Fall Leadership Conference in Thornton February 2, 2018: Public Policy Day in Golden April 27 - 28, 2018: State Convention in Highlands Ranch July, 2018: AAUW Rocky Mountain Regional Conference in Salt Lake City, UT

## 9. Adjourn

## Motion: It was moved by Betty Flaten and seconded by Betty Boyd to adjourn the meeting.

The meeting was adjourned at 9:15 a.m.

(signature on file)

May 22, 2017

Carolyn Cooley, Secretary

Date of Approval

#### **BOARD MEMBER ATTENDEES**

### AAUW Colorado Board of Directors Meeting

**Colorado State Convention** 

Antlers Hotel, Colorado Springs, CO

# April 29, 2017

Name	Position	Branch
Amy Blackwell	President	All
Betty Flaten	Program Development VP	Boulder/Lakewood
Linda Groth	Program Development VP	Boulder
Eileen Young	Membership VP, Nominating Committee Chair	eNetwork
Bev Dare	Treasurer	Lakewood
Carolyn Cooley	Secretary	Littleton-South Metro, eNetwork
Betty Boyd	Public Policy Co-Director	Lakewood
Amanda White	Communications Committee Co-Chair	eNetwork
Lois Florkey	Bylaws Co-Chair	eNetwork
Jill Smith	InterBranch Council Chair	Littleton-South Metro